Whimsy up your weekend post numero quince: A tribute to Maya Angelou

When you’re young and haven’t lost too much yet nor seen the world change a lot, you may take people for granted. There are certain people whom I know personally and others whom I know of who are like sages. Their wisdom abounds and part of me thinks it will flow forever.

Until one day it doesn’t. Maya Angelou had been around for all of my life. She was always in the background offering words of wisdom and inspirational sayings. I admit I don’t know nearly enough of her writing as I probably should. I wish that traditional American education focused equally on the work of people of color, especially women of color. But alas, it doesn’t but I certainly could and can invest more of my time into amazing people like Maya Angelou.

I often found myself reading Maya Angelou’s work during difficult times. She helped and inspired me when I was very sad. And she helped me to put things like oppression and social justice in perspective. Here are my favorite quotes from here:

On love:

Image

Source: Pinterest

On feminism:

Image

Source: Pinterest

On simple yet brilliant truths:

Image

Source: Pinterest

On more complex truths:

Image

Source: Pinterest

On human resilience:

Image

Source: Pinterest

On gratitude, happiness and well-being:

Image

Source: Pinterest

On overcoming oppression (also the most powerful start to a poem ever):

Image

Source: Pinterest

And this one I think we can all agree best describes hers truly:

Image

Source: Pinterest

The world will not forget you, Maya Angelou. Your spirit touched and connected with so many that it shall phenomenally rise again in all of us.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

