Whimsy up your weekend – post numero siete: In honor of my last post

In my last post, I talked about funny women and why I think women are funny in their own right, not because funny women think like men.  So in honor of that, here are my favorite movies written by women.

1.  Bachelorette, 2012.  Written and directed by Leslye Headland.  I’ll admit that when this movie first came out, the trailers didn’t make it look very good.  This past fall I noticed that it was available on Netflix’s Watch Instantly so I figured I’d give it a try.  It was hilarious.  From start to finish the wit of some characters and the unexpected one-liners were cracking me up.

Image

Source: bubvincenzo.sourceforge.net

It only gets 5.3/10 stars on IMDb and the reviews on Rotten Tomatoes aren’t good either.  The only thing I can think to explain this is that it’s crude and risque – like really crude and risque.  And I know not everyone is down with that.  If you’re expecting another Bridesmaids, this movie takes raunchy to another level.

Speaking of Bridesmaids…

2.  Bridesmaids, 2012.  Written by Kristen Wiig and Annie MumoloThis is the best movie and it never could have been written by a man because how many men truly get the dynamics and absurdity found within any given group of bridesmaids?  Not many.  But every woman would!

3.  Mean Girls, 2004.  Screenplay written by Tina Fey.

Again another movie that no man could write because it would be hard to understand what it’s like when a mean girl decides to make you her next victim.  I really despise woman-on-woman-crime but it is something that is a part of my life, particularly my middle school life.  And truthfully I don’t know a woman who hasn’t had some sort of female nemesis at some point in her life.  And this movie provides such an accurate portrayal of how absurd it all is.  Mean Girls helps you cope with the memories (that are hopefully in the distant past for you!) and recognize that there’s really no place in our lives for woman-on-woman hate.

4.  When Harry Met Sally, 1989. Written by Nora Ephron.

I haven’t seen this movie in awhile and it doesn’t have the same allure it once did to me.  But.  It is funny and it did help me get through a breakup or two in my younger years.

5.  The Devil Wears Prada, 2006.  Screenplay written by Aline Brosh McKenna.

Another movie that chronicles the plight of women dealing with mean women, and in this case mean women as bosses.  It also chronicles the plight of young women trying to make it in the big city, which is an awkward, terrifying and ultimately hilarious experience.

So there you have it!  And perhaps I’ve inspired you to watch one of these movies (or two) this weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whimsy up your weekend – post numero siete: In honor of my last post

  1. John says:

    As a man, I have to agree with your number one.

Leave a Reply

