What a week!

Disclaimer – Okay, so this is going to seem silly coming right after my last post.  Read on and you’ll see what I mean.

Seriously, if last week (in the US) wasn’t an amazingly feel good moment from start to finish then I don’t know what is!  Down with DOMA!  Wendy Davis rocks!  No more Prop 8!  Woohoo!

But.  First, we should start with the bad news.  And there was some very bad news, which I’m worried is being swept under the rug amidst all the good news.  So I want to start with the bad to make sure it’s not forgotten.  So… the piece of bad news that I’m aware of is the striking down of the Voting Rights Act of 1965.  This act has been in effect for not even fifty years… after how many years of slavery, exactly?  Well, I just looked it up and according to wikipedia, the first slaves arrived in what is now the United States in 1619.  1619!  More than 200 years.  And then after slavery, there were hardly equal rights for African Americans.  And think about it, the US enacted legislation a century after slavery ended because African Americans were still unable to vote freely and without discrimination.  And yet, we think that after 47 years, our society doesn’t need these laws – after over 200 years of slavery and then another century of segregation and blatant institutional oppression.  And anyways, I’m pretty sure there’s still a lot of racism everywhere.  So the way I look at this is that this law was working and we’re getting closer to equality – maybe a little too close for certain people.  And so certain people, including some people with a lot of power, decided that wouldn’t fly with them.  Some people (maybe many people) know exactly what they’re doing but many do it without even realizing it.  Because of institutional racism.  And because of how ingrained it is in all of us.

So that is the bad news.  I heard there were some other pretty bad decisions made last week.  But I haven’t yet looked into them.  I intend to.  But I have a lot going on and I’m only human and there are only so many hours in the day…

And now for the good news – which was GREAT!  First of all, Wendy Davis was ah-mazing!  Seriously, she’s my new hero(ine).  And it’s too bad, though unsurprising, that a second special session is going to happen.  But regardless, I, and so many other people, will never forget her brave actions. And I’ll forever be inspired by her – and I’m sure many other people feel the same.  As well as the brave actions of the pro-choice supporters in the state building that night.  It must have been incredible to be in that room in Austin, TX last night.

And of course, DOMA and Prop 8 are gone.  More amazing news!  Seriously, I felt some relief knowing that these acts are literally history.  And I found myself with a big smile on my face and feeling so giddy with excitement every time I thought of everything going on in the US last week.  And, I still feel that way.

Oh and yeah, like I first said it’s weird that I am posting this right after my last post but, I, obviously, am for marriage enough to do it myself and I most definitely believe it should not be denied to an entire group of people because of some people’s beliefs.

Civil Rights

Civil Rights (Photo credit: yensid1998)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

